Fund Raisers

Don’t you love fundraiders?  Yeah…me either!!  It wasn’t so bad when I only had one child in school.  I could handle selling a few things here and there.  Now that I have 3 that are in gradeschool, my wallet is feeling the brunt of their fundraising efforts.  Recently, they each came home with a box of 48 candy bars to sell.  48 x 3 kids = A CRAP LOAD OF CANDY!  How in the world could I sell that much candy?  Well, to be honest, I couldn’t.  So, guess what we all ate too much of…

crazy mom 118

Do you have to help your kids with fundraisers??

This entry was posted in Motherhood, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Fund Raisers

  1. So far not really. I’m sure that once my daughter goes to school it will all hit at once! HA HA!

  2. I hope it was “The World’s Finest” chocolate bars, because those are totally worth the calories! 😉

  3. 🙂 Oh! love chocolate! our son is not in school yet but yeah last November I had to eat a lot of chocolate because of my nephew, he had to sell chocolate too at school, so I got a couple of those and ate them all too!!! 🙂

  4. Anka says:

    Oh boy, I feel your pain. Why is that the parents get stuck paying for and eating all the fundraiser candy bars? I bet you don’t want to see another piece of chocolate for a while!

  5. mskirian4u says:

    Hi there! I know what you mean. For the past year I have been in the PTA Prez. (let’s just say I didn’t think it through and ready for it to be over, lol). But parents don’t necessarily have to participate in the fundraising.

    The reason why schools do these fundraisers are to raise funds for feild-trips, programs by visiting artists, and after-school programs – which are vitally important to stretching young imaginations, but are not funded by the school system and are not otherwise available to many students. Therefore when the school or a PTA do these fundraisers, the vendor is giving them 25-50% of the profits. That being said, we have parents that opt-out and simply instead make a donation to the school or the PTA on their behalf for the fundraising–instead of having to sell/buy products they are not interested in.

    Just thought I share what I have learned so far this school year 🙂

  6. I swear one of the reasons I homeschool is so I don’t have to do fundraisers. Ugh.

  7. Valerie says:

    We sold magazines growing up. Boooo! That was a hard thing to sell. There is commitment there, ya know? A year of *whatever*, and they aren’t cheap! I hardly ever sold more than a few subscriptions. :/ I would have made a killing with chocolate! lol My mom LOVES chocolate!!

Share a comment!

