What’s Cookin’?

Who is the main cook in your house?  I’m the “chef” at our house.  I’m using the term “chef” very loosely.  I do try to make an effort to make good, balanced meals for my family.  I usually make breakfast, lunch, dinner, and all snacks.  I know, I know – I should get an award for that.  Once in a while, my husband offers to “make” dinner.  I’m not complaining.  At least, I don’t have to cook!

crazy mom 105

Are you the chef in your house??

This entry was posted in Motherhood, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to What’s Cookin’?

  1. I’m definitely the chef for my little family.

  2. greenandclean says:

    Do your kids eat the food? I get so discouraged sometimes when they don’t eat the food that I make. I try to ignore it but it does get to me sometimes. It’s a big deal to be the “food provider.”

    • momtimes4 says:

      No – not always. I have one really picky eater and the rest are generally good eaters. It is so annoying when you work hard on dinner and then no one eats it…

  3. sillyliss says:

    Zeb is the chef in our household. He makes almost every meal. He HATES calling in for pizza. Sometimes I wonder how I met a man who hates calling in for pizza! He says it’s against all his principles.

  4. Brittany says:

    We both make the menu and do the cooking. I feed them breakfast, lunch, and snacks as well, but we either do dinner together or take turns cooking. Our kids usually eat it, unless we are making it really spicy, I will either alter it for their portions or make them something different. We make it a big deal to have healthy, balanced, and very yummy meals to encourage our kids to eat them and know that healthy can still taste great.

  5. I love to cook, but everytime I make a “real meal” no ones wants it, so I figure why bother, they can l just have a sandwich;) And then my husband reminisces about the dinners I used to make…LOL! It sucks to work hard and then have everyone go “oh I’m not hungry right now” or “I dont eat that.” If they knew what was good for them they’d get hungry real quick haha!

  6. 🙂 We both are in our household 🙂 D, helps out with the cooking a lot, at least 3 times a week 🙂

  7. Valerie says:

    I am the only cook in our house, that’s for sure! lol If I have things going, my husband can “take over” if need be, but he wouldn’t be able to do it from start to finish. He is wonderful about helping with the dishes, though and THAT is a blessing because I loathe washing dishes!!!!!!
    As far as what kind of food I prepare, I aim for balanced about 3/4 of the week, and the rest is kind fluffy; we get fast food once a week, I make turkey burgers and fries once a week, etc. But we don’t splurge on junk often, so I figure I’m “balancing” it well enough! haha

    • momtimes4 says:

      That’s a good system. Sounds balanced to me. Do you make your turkey burgers from scratch?

      • Valerie says:

        Well, depends on what you consider from scratch. I buy fresh ground turkey which is already formed into patties and then I marinate them and broil them. I’m going to be posting that meal in a few weeks, I think! It’s everybody’s favorite. 😀

      • momtimes4 says:

        That sounds really good! I’ll be looking for that recipe. 🙂

  8. This hits close to home today! I am the main cook but I am not a good cook! My husband can actually cook very well but he rarely cooks. Today I asked him if he wanted to make lunch for us and he said, “sure, what do you want me to go pick up?”….I went and heated up soup and dinner rolls!!!

  9. My husband is the “Chef” in that he makes wonderful things that people rave over-but only occasionally when he is feeling creative. Meanwhile, I am the hired help who prepares the food every day and night (but I don’t get paid for it, HA HA!) My kids would prefer chicken patties and frozen pizza every night, but they aren’t going to get it!

  10. definitely me..I loved cooking before but now that I have to do it and sometimes I put much effort in it and both kids moan….arghhhh….I hate it. N. made us pizza once (he forgot to ad salt) and it was not edible 😉

Share a comment!

