Playing in the Snow

Did you play out in the snow when you were a child?  I did.  My sisters and I would spend hours sledding, building forts, and making snow angels.  I never remember being cold.  Either my memory is playing tricks with me, or children are wimps today.  Honestly, it takes me longer to dress my kids to play outside then how long they stay out and play. I practically break a sweat putting on boots, hats, mittens, and scarves.  Also, it takes forever to find any of these items.  I’m pretty sure I own 10 non-matching gloves.  Where are the matching gloves?????

crazy mom 99

Does it take you a long time to get your kids dressed to play outside??

This entry was posted in Motherhood, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Playing in the Snow

  1. sillyliss says:

    LOL, yes!! I only have two kids, but it still takes 25 minutes. But you know what? For me, the 30 minutes spent mostly just getting ready for snow is so worth it. It’s like the getting ready is an activity in and of itself.

  2. Valerie says:

    Growing up in Michigan, I played outside in the snow a LOT and, like you said, I didn’t complain about being cold. I *was* cold, but it didn’t make me want to go inside! We had stuff to do! At school we went sledding during recess, and at home we made snowmen and snow angels, forts, etc.
    Being that my kids are being raised in the south, where we’re lucky to get snow once or twice a year, they DO stay outside a long time when it snows because it’s so new and different…a novelty!! BUT, if they were used to it, I know they’d do the same as your kiddos. 😉 We didn’t get ANY snow last year! 😦 Hoping we do this winter!! Samuel’s never seen it. How does your littlest one like it? 🙂

    • momtimes4 says:

      Well – we it’s been so cold, it’s 9 degrees this morning! So, I have to bundle him up really well so he gets frustrated that he can hardly walk. 😉

      • Valerie says:

        Haha, awww!! I actually meant from inside! Like, does he like watching it snow? 9 degrees?! Ouch, that’s cold!!!!!!

      • momtimes4 says:

        Oh, Ha Ha! Yes, he loves to watch the snow. He also loves to see his brother and sisters play in it. 🙂

      • Valerie says:

        I bet! Samuel loves watching Maggie and Joshua play outside too! He plays on our deck (off from our kitchen) most of the time, and they are in the yard. He is happy to watch them. Of course he gets to play in the yard sometimes too, but mostly he stays on the deck driving his Little Tikes car. 🙂

  3. idiotprufs says:

    It was never too cold to play. Shoveling out the driveway before my dad got home from work was a different story.

  4. Sometimes, yes. They love the “idea” of snow, and the first snow every year they get ready pretty fast. But every subsequent time after that takes longer and longer and longer, and they stay out less and less time. We’re down to excuses mode now-they tell me all the things they have to do that are better than playing in the snow! I lived outdoors when I was a kid-playing in the snow was AWESOME!

    You should enter your link tomorrow on Theme Thursday over at Something Clever 2.0. Her theme tomorrow is winter, and she is awesome! 😀 http://www.somethingclever2point0.com/ If you go over to her website and click on the blue “Theme Thursday” link on her right sidebar it gives more information.

  5. fiammisday says:

    So true!!!!! 😂😂😂😂😂

  6. ha!ha! mine is still too small to play outside for long periods of time but I remember playing outside for hours, they had to force me to get inside 🙂

  7. Okay, my kids are finally good this year but the past years all I could do is bang my head against the wall when they came trudging back in 5 minutes later!

Share a comment!

